TG Spotlight: Kara Walla

Kara Walla Small.png

Job Title/Role: Application Developer

Time at TG: 1 year, 10 months

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: I was born in Montana and moved between many states as a child, but I have lived in Milwaukee for most of my life.

Q: What career path did you choose for yourself as a child?

A: I wanted to be an animator for Pixar, but I don't think I ever seriously considered it as a career path.

Q: What's your favorite movie?

A: I love the Lord of the Rings trilogy, but it’s hard to choose just one movie as my favorite. I have favorite movies in every genre. I’m a huge Star Wars fan, too. (I liked The Last Jedi, in case you were wondering. Four out of five stars.)

Q: What are your favorite activities or hobbies?

A: I teach voice, drama, improv, stage makeup, and specialty classes for a musical theater organization. Outside of that, I enjoy oil painting, drawing, writing, playing the piano, traveling, and going on outdoor adventures with my husband and our two cats.

Q: Do you have any pets? If so, what are their names? 

A: I have two very young "adventure cats" named Smokey and Misty. My husband and I take them boating, kayaking, hiking, etc. Next year we plan to take them camping!

Q: Where is your favorite vacation spot? 

A: I went to Puerto Vallarta for my honeymoon and loved it! Locally, visiting the Wisconsin Dells is always a good choice.

Q: Anything on your bucket list?

A: My bucket list is always changing. In the near future, I'd like to get a scuba diving certification.

Q: What do you love best about your job? 

A: I like the flexibility and the variety of work (and the people!).

Q: What has been your best experience at TG so far? 

A:  I have really enjoyed traveling for work!

Q: What technologies have you worked with or enjoyed working with?

A: I have really enjoyed working with React, Redux, and Javascript in general. React has been a revelation.